Notice: Function register_uninstall_hook was called incorrectly. Only a static class method or function can be used in an uninstall hook. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.1.0.) in /home/u115151829/domains/ on line 5833
UNILORIN V.C, Egbewole Emerges Pioneer Chairman of KU8 - TEAM PLATO REPORTS

Blog Post


UNILORIN V.C, Egbewole Emerges Pioneer Chairman of KU8 

All eight Universities that are currently domiciled in kwara state on Wednesday (January 11, 2023) formed a consortium called KU8.

The Universities formed the KU8 are University of Ilorin, Ilorin (1975), AlHikmah University, Ilorin (2005), Kwara State University, Malete (2009), Landmark University, Omu-Aran (2011), Summit University, Offa (2015), Crown-Hill University, Ilorin (2016), Ahman Pategi University, Patigi (2021), Thomas Adewumi University, Oko (2021) and the University of Offa, Offa (2021).

Speaking at the maiden meeting of the KU8 held at the University of Ilorin where all Vice Chancellors of the member Universities were in attendance, the convener of the meeting who doubles as the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin, Professor Wahab Olasupo Egbewole said the idea of ‘The KU8 Initiative’ was to promote functional academic linkages and institutional collaboration for the attainment of effective delivery of the University core mandate of teaching, research and community service among the member Universities.

“The purpose of KU8 (or eight Universities in Kwara State) is mainly to develop closer relationships, promote academic linkages and establish institutional collaboration which will allow joint activities in delivering the University mandate of teaching, research and community service” .

“This is necessary in order to avoid one of the ironies of today’s world in which human beings are so advanced that we go to the moon but we are so backward to visit or assist our neighbour. The essence is to pursue the global without compromising the local because ultimately, all development permeates from the rear” Prof Egbewole said.

Unilorin Vice Chancellor added “the crux of this meeting aligns with the operational philosophy that I champion. I told the Senate of the University of Ilorin in my inaugural address, “Together Everyone Achieves More”, that TEAM is just an acronym depicting that. As unity is strength and we cannot clap with a hand, we can support one another to overcome challenges and deepen the training of our teeming young ones. A broom sweeps only when the individual broomsticks come together and work together. The University of Ilorin extends its hands of fellowship to all Kwara universities as it looks forward to a future where members of the KU8 will be emerging the best in several areas”.

In his comment at the opening ceremony of the Initiative, the Ag. Vice Chancellor of the Kwara State University, Prof. Shaykh Luqman Jimoh commended the convener of the KU8 for coming up with such a brilliant initiative which he said it is going to be very useful and supportive not only to member Universities but also to society in general.

Prof. Jimoh revealed that the late Vice Chancellor of the Kwara State University, Prof. Muhammed Mustapha Akanbi SAN had earlier initiated a robust collaboration with University of Maiduguri and the Borno State University adding that he was also keen in bringing all Universities in kwara state under one umbrella, but he thanked God that Prof. Akanbi’s desire has come to pass with the formation of KU8.

In their separate comments at the meeting, the Vice Chancellor of Al-Hikmah University, Prof Noah Yusuf, Vice Chancellor of Ahma Patigi University, Prof. Mahfouz Adedimeji described the formation of KU8 as a step in a right direction and expressed optimism that the Initiative would bear fruitful result.

Other Vice Chancellors in attendance that equally made contributions and brilliant suggestions included Landmark University, Prof. Charity Onye Aremu, Crown-Hill University ably represented by Prof Jeleel Ojuade at the meeting, Thomas Adewumi University Prof. Fransisca Oladipo, and Professor Abiodun Musa Aibinu of Summit University.

However, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin Prof. Egbewole emerged as the pioneer Chairman of KU8 while the positions of the General Secretary and Treasurer went to the Vice Chancellor of Thomas Adewumi University Prof. Oladipo and Vice Chancellor of Landmark University Prof. Aremu respectively.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

WordPress Theme built by Shufflehound. © 2022 Team Plato Reports
Don`t copy text!